Samurai Creed

20120317-220732.jpg

I have no parents;
I make the heavens and the earth my parents,
I have no home;
I make ‘saika tanden’ (abdominal region) my home.
I have no divine power;
I make honesty my divine power.
I have no means;
I make docility my means.
I have no magic power;
I make personality my magic power.
I have neither life nor death;
I make ‘a um’ (art of regulating one’s breath) my life and death.
I have no body;
I make stoicism my body.
I have no eyes;
I make the flash of lightening my eyes.
I have no ears;
I make sensibility my ears.
I have no limbs;
I make promtitude my limbs.
I have no laws;
I make self – protection my laws.
I have no strategy;
I make ‘sakkatsu jizai’ (free to kill and free to restore life) my strategy.
I have no designs;
I make ‘kisan’ (taking opportunity by the forelock ) my designs.
I have no miracles;
I make righteous laws my miracles.
I have no principles;
I make ‘rinkiohen’ (adaptablility to all circumstances my principles).
I have no tactic;
I make ‘kyojitsu’ (emptiness and fullness) my tactics.
I have no talent;
I make ‘toi skumyo’ (ready wit) my talent.
I have no friends;
I make my mind my friend.
I have no enemy;
I make incautiousness my enemy.
I have no armor;
I make ‘jin-gi’ (benevolence and righteousness) my armor.
I have no castle;
I make ‘ fudoshin’ (immovable mind) my castle.
I have no sword;
I make ‘mushin’ (absence of mind) my sword.
Mushin
‘Mind of No Mind’

20120317-214050.jpg

20120317-214351.jpg

Leave a Reply

